Law Enforcement

Find a Class | Search Classes By County | Online Boater Ed Course

Mississippi Boater Education

Effective July 1, 1997 any person born after June 30, 1980 must complete a Boating Safety Course to operate a boat.

Persons under 12 years of age must be accompanied by a person 21 or older on board the boat in order to operate the boat.

For persons who wish to learn more about Mississippi Boating Basics and the legal and safe practices for boat operators, a six hour instructor taught course is available for groups.


Search for a Boater Education Class 

The state course taught by MDWFP officers and volunteers (6 hours of in-class study) is accepted nationwide.


The Mississippi Boating Basics internet course (see list below) is available for persons who are unable to attend an instructor taught course. Most insurance companies honor these courses by offering reductions in insurance premiums on completion.

Only the following internet boating courses are approved and accepted by The Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks. The operator of a boat or PWC who chooses to take an internet course must have, in their possession, proof of successful completion of one of these courses to operate a boat or PWC in the public waters of Mississippi. Other states may not accept these courses.

These courses are provided by independent vendors and problems/questions from these courses need to be directed to those vendors and not the MDWFP.


Duplicate Boater Education Card

If you have lost your Boater Education card, please follow this link to purchase a new duplicate card and download a temporary card. Duplicate Boater Education cards are only available to those who took the course through MDWFP. The duplicate card fee is $3.00.

Duplicate Card


Effective July l, l998, Mississippi will offer the option for titling boats and motors. This is not a mandatory requirement; however, a more complete record will be obtained for boat owners. A ten dollar fee will be charged for original applications, duplicates, or transfers.



Contact your local Hunter/Boater Education Coordinator

For information on becoming a Boater or Hunter Education Instructor, for Safety Talks, Community Event Presentations, or Hunter/Boater Ed. in Schools, please click here to find the Coordinator for your area. 

For more information related to Boating and Boating Safety Classes, call the Education Desk at 601-432-2180 or 601-432-2181.


Share this share this share this

Sign up, Keep Up

Sign up to receive monthly newsletters featuring all the latest news and happenings from MDWFP.
- or -
Sign up to receive survey questions from MDWFP. Your information is valuable to our conservation efforts!